Joining the Insecure Writer’s Support Group ~ No#49

I am interested in joining the Insecure Writer’s Support Group because I think it would be a useful networking exercise. I have some image problems. Also, I worry about the difficulty of making a sustained effort as a writer. I’m also have some doubts about whether I have enough originality to make writing more a good idea.

One specific fear I had was the fear of trying to stay current as a computer user which isn’t easy. I finally decided that reasonable standards of computing are adequate, but it took me a long time to become convinced of this (like dipping a toe in a cold pool of water). I also had some fear that I hadn’t read enough to merit writing myself, but eventually found the courage to acknowledge myself for the books I have read. I am also afraid that I don’t sufficiently understand the world around us to be a worthwhile writer.

One struggle I went through was the decision to permanently move out of my mom and dad’s house. It took me a relatively long time to do this. I am sure that a common struggle among people in and out of the writing game is relationship problems, and trying to make relationships of all levels work is a major concern for me. It was also a struggle, as I mentioned above, when I was writing some of my doubts, to accept the changing times.

A triumph of mine was accepting my sister’s encouragement to contribute some run-of-the-mill movie reviews to a local student newspaper, which was a triumph because for several weeks the reviews were published in print and online for the paper for which I was volunteering. It was the beginning of my interest in being published. Some other modest recognition which I have enjoyed have also got me feeling triumphant, and I don’t want to say too much about this, but recognition is positively a joy. I also feel better when I write something complete, which is perhaps my most important triumph.

If you are struggling, remember, and I hope I’m not speaking out of place, that writing is an end in and of itself.

Photographer:Daria Nepriakhina
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
7 thoughts on “Joining the Insecure Writer’s Support Group ~ No#49

  1. Exactly. While every writer’s journey is different, in the end what matters is the writing. There is no limit to writerly insecurities, but you have a great attitude. The answer is always to keep writing and submitting. Congratulations on those movie reviews!

Leave a Reply

