Thinking I Have Been Misguided

An Internet newsletter I read included an interesting 2007 interview I read last night with filmmaker Werner Herzog

brickmag.com/was-the-twentieth-century-a-mistake/

The films the writer of the article points to include Nosferatu the Vampyre, Aguirre the Wrath of God, and Fitzcarraldo, three which I viewed quietly when I was in college, specifically in the year 1999 when such things were far less frequently available. One of my college essays included a few of my observations about Herzog, and, perplexingly enough, my teacher mentioned the last day we spoke to each other that he was planning himself to write a book about Herzog, to establish the young man who taught me himself, as a writer. The interview included a peculiar observation Herzog made in the 2007 interview, in which the filmmaker is quoted as saying: “Adventure! I cannot stand the term adventure nowadays—I lower my head and charge—it has degenerated into such an obscenity that you can go to the travel agency and book an adventure trip to New Guinea, to the headhunters, to the cannibals.”

I was reminded of my blog post two days ago:  findingenvirons1.wordpress.com/2017/06/24/what-might-have-been-adventure-can-show-the-rust/ which included in its title the unfortunate word Adventure. I think I must correct the impression it left, but, to the blog post’s credit, it did receive the attention and interest of a blogger with a much, much larger profile than I have, beautybeyondbones, who compared to me you should read, and you can find her most recent post at the time of this writing at

beautybeyondbones.com/2017/06/22/the-exploitation-by-to-the-bone/

Compared to me, she’s very good.

That being said, today’s WordPress Daily Prompt is the word, “Local,” and I think how hard it is to be by and large confined to the area which is local for me and still to feel like there is a contribution I can make. I am not easily discouraged, but I think compared to someone like beautybeyondbones, who has gone through tremendous suffering and come back strong, I wonder what kind of insight I can conjure. I think again, however, and I remember it is true that if you have any interest in doing business in 2017, you should definitely have a blog and update it regularly. I sometimes tweet links to articles that argue for the importance of blogging, and, I feel the odd person who clicks through what I share on Twitter about blogging sometimes must resonate. You can find me on Twitter here

findingenvirons

It is nearly ready for a summer update, but that must by necessity and for scheduling reasons be left for several days from now, which is what I’ve decided.

dscf8591

There is a plentitude of blogging advice available on the Internet, but the best advice I know of is this tidbit. You should generally not tell people what to post. Any passion, any recipe for inventiveness or what is usually referred to as authenticity, should not be filtered out of an individual’s content for the sake of conveying expertise. It is not a good idea.

The WordPress photo challenge this week has been an essay on the subject of Transience, and while I expressed an interest in the essay in my previous blog post I did neglect to include a link to the actual essay, in case you wish to read it. It is here

photo-challenges/drifter/

I shall include another photo, which I think implies transience, simply for the oversight of not actually linking to the essay which inspired the blog post which beautybeyondbones briefly evaluated, impressing me greatly. If you are of a mind that a post like this is favourable to you, feel free to, “like,” “comment,” and/or, “follow.” I seldom know what this will turn up, but I was moved by the response to the previous blog post again and also what the Werner Herzog interview turned up (and that too you should consider reading in its entirety).

DSCF8451

One thought on “Thinking I Have Been Misguided

  1. Pingback: Transient Bridge | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

