For Art’s Sake a Collage

I’ve been under a lot of stress lately but it doesn’t mean I don’t want to continue blogging.

 

To circumvent certain difficulties I refer to the WordPress Daily Prompts and the Weekly Photo Challenges when I am thinking of blogging.  I feel this way I am on the same level as other participants in these WordPress suggestions for blog entries.  The Daily Prompts typically refer to a specific word of the day as a launching point to write a blog post, and the Weekly Photo Challenges are essays which inspire blog posts with photography in mind.

 

This week’s Photo Challenge is to a prepare a photo collage for your blog.  This is fun.  It is artistic and it requires a little bit of work to put together something with quality.  I took four photos I took recently and reassembled them into a collage which I am including for you here.  I will take a moment now to explain what the photos mean and if they amount to anything as a whole.  A collage is what has been assembled.

 wp_collage_2

The photo on the top left shows a tree at the cemetery where I work.  I co-direct operations at this little out of the way cemetery in my town (and you can visit it on the Internet at http://maplelawncemeteryorg.ipage.com/oldchurchcemetery/ which is the website).  The tree stands on the side of the driveway around the church which divides the cemetery from the church proper (the congregation disbanded in 2006).  The tree represents for me a point of interest because it is elevated above the shed where we keep the riding mower I utilize the cut the cemetery grass.  It is a dividing point on the property and it means to me a focus or orientation, which serves as a subtle boundary.  The focus is important to me as without the power to focus, and this is something which for me is a personal struggle, I would be far less productive as an individual and therefore mired.

 

The photo to the right of that is the image of a claw which is dismantling a closed-up building unit which for some time in the past comprised a bar.  It isn’t far from where I live and the construction activity depicted occurred most recently.  For me, the opposite of boundaries is destruction, which is what I think I fear and what it is possible many individuals fear.  The contrast between the stability of the tree overlooking the cemetery shed and the breakdown of urban sprawl lends itself to art, as in opposites side by side illustrating change.

 

The third photo, to the left and beneath the image of the tree, is a local high school in the evening with a magnificent sky overlooking it.  Where the illustration of the difference between peace and destruction is on display at the top, the photo of the high school is an institution of human development which is quite far intellectually from the depicted notions of security and of destruction.  It helps to reflect on the student body which occupies the school three-quarters of the year and to think about how it is they relate to the images of change which are above the photo.  Whereas specifics of change are illustrated in the top two photos, the high school helps reflect a flow of ongoing change.

 

Lastly, the fourth photo shows a bonfire, which is literally being employed to burn branches at our cemetery, and which helps illustrate the notion of spiritual, I think, because what isn’t necessary to the cemetery is destroyed.  The photo collage tries to capture both positive changes, in the images of the tree and of the school, and likewise negative withdrawal, where the claw and the fire show what is symbolic of being taken down.  A straightforward contrast such as this helps fulfill its necessity as art.

 

If you enjoyed what I shared, feel free to, “like,” “follow,” and/or “subscribe” to my blog.  I hope to continue, and if you are moved by this entry, I welcome your input and perhaps I will even go so far as to visit your own blog myself.  All the best to you!

Planets Mercury Mars Venus and Earth blank

One thought on “For Art’s Sake a Collage

  1. Pingback: Collage Arrival | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

