A Partnership in Operations, in the Real World and also on WordPress

My father Peter and I look after operations at Maple Lawn Cemetery, a little graveyard where families continue to lay their loved ones to rest.  I’m not entirely sure between the two of us who thought we should involve our efforts with social media, with https://www.facebook.com/LouthUnited … but we do, and I know from the Internet that blogging is an important component of branding businesses of all sizes.  I had the idea to tailor a blog to activities both inside and outside of the cemetery, and I am only these days beginning to narrow its focus so that it is both a heart on the sleeve and also offering some acumen of what we get up to as a two-partner not-for-profit http://maplelawncemetery.org/

 DSCF7922

Today’s WordPress Daily Prompt is the word partner… https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/partner/ …and my dad and I have been restructuring the work we do lately in order to accommodate changing experiences we’re encountering as we continue to maintain the cemetery (we began in 2013).  Dad worked for the municipality for many years and much of that time was spent in the office of the municipal cemetery where he played the role of a boss.  Similarly, at Maple Lawn, Peter functions in the role of a boss as we both look after operations which from my point of view chiefly include summertime caretaking and some duties in the disbanded church, Louth United, which is on the street running in front of the cemetery we look after.  What we’re really doing at the present is weighing how effectively we are carrying out duties caretaking the cemetery, and we do that without the benefit of the guidance of a Board of Directors or anyone else evaluating what we’re about, but not without the input of my mother and Peter’s wife Linda, who listens a little to what we have to say about what we’re getting done at the graveyard.

 DSCF8386

For about the last three years, I’ve been blogging with relative frequency, and although the theme of the blog probably seems a little unclear, it is like that primarily because I don’t have much partnership to draw upon when I am thinking about what to say for the blog.  I found myself settling upon drawing on the WordPress Daily Prompts and Weekly Photo Challenges for ideas what to say because that other bloggers use the WordPress prompts will be similarly finding themselves challenged to write posts with the spark of inspiration engendered by those prompts.  Ultimately I have found myself beginning to face the need to rewrite earlier posts I have put together so that they remain relevant and with the most direct aspects of the prompts written out as the specific prompts in question have fallen by the wayside.  I think what I have is a blog that resembles an eBook written at random and gradually entering the phase of its life in a state of the “second draft,” which is what I am doing now.

 

If you can relate to what I have on the go here, feel free to “like,” “comment,” and/or “follow.”  I am open to the possibility of looking on at your own blog, and if you do respond I can look at an example of one of your blog posts so I can relate to you.  Above all else, my blogging efforts are fun and are really only useful from the point of view of experimenting with a blog while keeping it grounded in my real world activities of working and learning.  Thank you for reading, and all the best to you.

 

Leave a Reply

