How Halloween Resolutions are Making the World a Better Place

In What Ways Might We Find a Little Magic in Affirming Halloween?

Guy Fawkes Day, Bonfire Night and Firework Night, is a yearly remembrance on 5 November, in the United Kingdom. I was there twenty years ago, in 1999, and the festivities I saw that fifth of November delighted me. I drifted among village people carrying an effigy of the infamous Guy Fawkes in procession and then setting him ablaze, burned.

He had been a traitor. Here, back in Canada, on Halloween, 31 October, of course, I get a little remorseful that I have let some fine moments pass by since, without being in the same kind of high spirit that night in the English village I was visiting.

Years later, I continue to enjoy seeing the leaves change colour, and I like seeing candy on store shelves, and spooky house decorations. I always think I could get myself a few costume elements–maybe this year will be the year I make good on my promise. I experience occasional brief pangs of regret for having spent years with less beauty and sensation as I would have liked, in my youth.

Even with as much opportunity as we have in the West, fiscal and personal and soul-satisfying, too, the calendar pages keep turning. There could be so much in the world that invigorates. I can think of one example in particular.

On the off chance that you’re visiting Iceland in winter, you are most likely wanting to see the Northern Lights, or the aurora borealis. The Northern Lights can be seen from pre-winter to spring, with the most obvious opportunity being during the nighttimes of the winter months.

Dimensions: 1944 x 1320
Photographer: Hunter Bryant

I think of a kind of magic there could be, viewing a sky like that. If I think of seeing that, but never, I can start to feel sad. If you have the calling, you may need to go somewhere like that, to feel as though you have lived properly.

Where I live, we enjoy Halloween candy and costumes. Halloween is not officially celebrated in Iceland, so it can be thought of a blessing that in this culture, in Canada, we celebrate Halloween, Americanized Halloween. In the United Kingdom, individuals hold Halloween parties where they take on the appearance of phantoms, skeletons or other frightening figure. In that respect, Canada’s the same as there.

I tweet occasional content that I think could be valuable for the right reader, lots of it trending and about my life and yours. If you want to share in these riches, click me up at https://twitter.com/findingenvirons

Happy autumn!

3 thoughts on “How Halloween Resolutions are Making the World a Better Place

  1. Happy autumn to you, too, but I’m sad to read about your sadness. You know that functional MRIs have shown that imaging things you’ve seen registers in the brain just as actually seeing them does? So you can return to your Guy Fawkes celebration or anything else you choose.

    I intend to picture the aurora borealis until such time as I make it to Iceland.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a remarkable comment that you sent me today on this post. I have been cautiously optimistic for a pleasant autumn now, but I was not familiar with what you’ve told me about how imaging registers. Such an extraordinary possibility.

      Plato is quoted with the wisdom that: “Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.” Although I’m nerdy, sometimes doing something as easy as turning on my boombox for some rock music and banter lifts my mood from sadness to good humour.

      I don’t want to understate how much I appreciate your comment on this post. Please don’t let my occasional sadness affect your own joy.
      Cheers!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.