Nine Years a Nonprofit Part II

October 30, 2013

There is a ton of rivalry.  Maple Lawn Cemetery has a Facebook page that I appreciate keeping up with, and I discover things to put on it.  

Facebook is going through a lot of change, as you probably know.  They are challenged repeatedly about how they handle their users’ privacy.  I’ve been happy to take the understanding that its objectives may bode well. https://www.facebook.com/LouthUnited/

I’m not sure my dad sees my ability, such as with our riding mower, as all that “expert.”  The work I do with it is adequate when I cut the grass when the weather is good.  I mulch leaves in the fall, and I can tow a cart.

It is normal to expect some criticism, but I don’t invite it.  I accept that I’m an imperfect person.

Yesterday, my dad and my brother Josh and me set up for two funerals, as there had been two people who passed.  The first of them was Mrs. Marilyn Bowslaugh, who visited the cemetery to do gardening around her family lots.  Mrs. Bowslaugh was kind, and she had advice and feedback for me on Facebook, which I was able to apply to do a better job.

Like I say, I enjoy keeping at it.  Facebook is becoming, by many accounts, a “metaverse,” a virtual world to live inside.

Mrs. Bowslaugh encouraged me to give the Facebook page for the cemetery the air of being by churchgoing folk, and she told me that she enjoyed feel-good stories (not unlike what goes into Reader’s Digest).  Although my dad and I have a designated day of the week, Wednesday, the day we most often are there, I have the luxury to work at my own pace, although it’s understood the expectation I should get work done.

I also take photographs around the graveyard.  I don’t take shots with huge insight, just impulse, and the training I’ve done myself, pointing and shooting. I like to experiment a little with the camera while taking pictures that represent something tangible, rather than obscured tones or something to that effect, which may look pretty but are difficult to decipher.

My cover image for this blog is simple lines, blue and green, expressionism roused by Kurt Vonnegut’s novel Bluebeard, the tale of a character who’s a now-weak craftsman, whose workmanship is expressionist painting.  It’s a book worth reading.

One thought on “Nine Years a Nonprofit Part II

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.