What year would you choose to time travel to and why? #bloganuary

If I could time travel, I would go from 2022, back to the year 1994. Major league baseball players walked out. It was Tom Hanks’ second consecutive Best Actor Oscar win. Woodstock ’94 recalled the original concert. I wouldn’t want to create a paradox.

I would have to go to a department store or mall to buy clothing in style, like oversized sweatshirts, sweaters, and t-shirts. I would likewise move away from the town where I carry on with my life, as not to run into my seventeen-year-old self, of 1994.

It would have been cool to see Pavement play a show in 1994 when their record album Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain was a commercially-significant album. They weren’t a characteristically commercial rock band. Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain briefly took Pavement to the top of the rock music industry, an industry much different today than it was then. I’ve heard quite a few recordings of Pavement playing live, and I would have liked to be in attendance when they were most famous. Some people really gravitate to Pavement. By the way, Pavement is doing a reunion tour this year, in 2022, and releasing a box set with both old and unreleased recordings on April 8. Stephen Malkmus, Pavement’s frontman, returned to the stage recently with a different band. Rolling Stone reported on it.

Stephen Malkmus Debuts Two New Songs at First Live Show Since 2019 https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/stephen-malkmus-new-songs-live-1287728/

However, the YouTube audio of the show on the Rolling Stone site is poor.

Pavement’s hit Cut Your Hair went into rotation on MTV at the time. Here it is (not a particularly formulaic music video presentation):

They also performed it for a taping of The Tonight Show with Jay Leno.

Maybe I could trade my mall t-shirt for a band shirt. Bling.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.